County Directory of Information & Services | Public Alerts | Public Information | County Contact Information




Acute Communicable Disease Control

    

Acute Communicable Disease Control


Contact Information
County of Los Angeles
Department of Public Health
Acute Communicable Disease Control
313 N. Figueroa Street, Room 212
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 240-7941
Fax: (213) 482-4856
E-Mail:acdc2@ph.lacounty.gov
Public Health Programs
Select from the list below to find an LA County Department of Public Health program.  Other Health Departments in L.A. County

Call 211 For Information 24/7

Have questions about things like where to go for vaccinations or other health care services?

Call 2-1-1.

Adobe Reader

Note: PDF documents on this site were created using Adobe Acrobat 5.0 or later. If you are using an earlier version of Adobe Acrobat Reader (4.x or less), document functionality may be reduced.
Acute Communicable Disease Control
Communicable Disease Reporting System (CDRS)

Reporting Numbers / Forms / Systems:
What is Reportable?

Other Public Health Reporting Forms (For Health Providers)

Why report?

The primary objectives of disease surveillance are:

  • Protecting the health of the public;
  • To determine the extent of morbidity within the community;
  • To evaluate risk of transmission;
  • To intervene rapidly when appropriate.

Introduction to Disease Reporting in California
Under the California Code of Regulations, Title 17 (Section 2500), public health professionals, medical providers and others are mandated to report approximately 85 diseases or conditions to their local health department. Additionally, anyone in charge of any type of school is also required to report these diseases (Section 2508), as are Laboratories (Section 2505).


Delay or failure to report: Delay or failure to report communicable diseases has contributed to secondary transmission in the past. Under the California Code of Regulations, Title 16, (Section 1364.10), failure to report a communicable disease is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000, or by imprisonment for a term of not more than 90 days, or both. Each day the violation is continued is a separate offense. The Medical Board of California has made failure to report in a timely manner a citable offense under California Business and Professions Code (Section 2234), "Unprofessional Conduct."

Additional Information

Past Important Notifications

 

Home  |
ACDC Home
Public Health
LA County
  Careers  |   DPH Programs  |   Email: Webmaster  | Notice of Privacy Practices | 
English
Spanish
  Website Privacy Policy  |   Language  |   Accessibility  |   Disclaimer |   Employee  |
Admin Use
Outlook E-mail
DPH Intranet (At Work)
 
Los Angeles County Seal: Enriching lives through effective and caring services